Vélo d’Or Award 2023: Jonas Vingegaard is elected Cyclist of the Year

Danish cyclist Jonas Vingegaard, from the Jumbo-Visma team, aged 26, and Dutch cyclist Demy Vollering, from the SD Worx team, at the same age, were awarded the Vélo d’Or Award. This distinction is awarded annually by the French magazine Velo Magazine and the newspaper L’Équipe, with the tradition dating back to 1992 and involving voting by 42 journalists from 25 countries.

++ Bengals left tackle Orlando Brown Jr. is expected to play against the 49ers

The ceremony, held last Sunday (22) at the Gabriel Pavilion, in Paris, was not attended by Jonas Vingegaard, who was on vacation with his family. He stood out in the awards, accumulating 142 points, followed by Mathieu Van Der Poel with 133 points and Tadej Pogačar with 126 points. On the women’s side, Demy Vollering scored 171 points, followed by Lotte Kopecky with 139 points and Annemiek Van Vleuten with 99 points.

++ RB Leipzig striker Yussuf Poulsen has extended his contract until 2026

The big news at this year’s Vélo d’Or was the introduction of the new award called Eddy Merckx for the best cyclist in one-day events, which was awarded to Mathieu Van Der Poel from the Alpecin-Deceuninck team. French cyclists also received recognition, with Christophe Laporte of the Jumbo-Visma team being considered the best French cyclist of the year, and Pauline Ferrand-Prévot the best French cyclist in the other Olympic disciplines.

The Vélo d’Or is considered equivalent to the Ballon d’Or in football and was marked by the absence of the winner, who expressed his pride in the achievement through a video. He promised to honor this distinction on the roads as he competes against his friends and occasional opponents, regretting his absence from the ceremony and reaffirming his commitment to vindicate the vote of those who trusted him.

Make sure to like our Facebook and Instagram pages for more Miami Cycling Show news.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Translate »